Food / Health / Weight

morning work break...

morning work break…

Has anybody else, like me, been on a diet, on and off, for about 15 years now!! I can only remember once in that time actually being happy with my weight. When my sister got married, I was her only bridesmaid, I suppose that pushed me to do something about it…I worked hard for a year, lots of time in the gym and a very extreme diet (mostly rice cakes!!)

To my credit, I did look fabulous 😉  Trouble is though, once that was over and I started to eat properly, the weight came back pretty quickly.

To be fair, you can’t live on rice cakes, it wasn’t a long term solution! Plus all that time in the gym was time away from my young kids too….

Fast forward…. for the last 6 months I have been excercising about 4 times a week, I’ve been eating relatively clean, bar the odd bad day. I’ve given up drinking for the most part. Anyone want to hazard a guess to how much weight I’ve lost…..

zero, nil, not a flippin pound!!!

It’s extremely frustrating. At least if I was seeing the benefits I would have a little motivation. To top it off I have a serious case of IBD which seems to be getting worse.

swapping tea for hot water...

swapping tea for hot water…

What I need is a personal trainer, a dietitian and a chef. Sure while you’re at it you may as well throw in a butler and a maid too!!! If I could go back and tell my 25 year old self how much harder it is when you’re, well lets just say 35+, I would tell her to put in the work now and not put it off!!! I saying all of this, I am not deeply unhappy with my body, I know I just feel better when I am a little less wobbly and a lot more healthy.

Garfield

I have a wedding coming up in October maybe that will push me to work hard over the next few weeks…. maybe an online food diary might generate a few tips! Wish me luck 🙂

6 thoughts on “Food / Health / Weight

  1. It is difficult.. especially for those who don’t have a strict meal plans… although, I heard about, Mayo Diet.. It’s not what you probably think, it’s not a diet based solely on Mayo, that would be counter-productive.. hahaha.. My Aunt actually lost 3 kg (about 6.6 pounds) following the diet, for 13 days.. 🙂 hope the information helps.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You can do this! Eating clean is so good for your health, but for weight loss (as I’m sure you know) you have to put an equal emphasis on calorie counting portion control 🙂 Just out of curiousity… why are you giving up tea?

    Like

Leave a Reply

